Skip to content Skip to footer

Precinct Conventions are the first step in selecting delegates to the State   and  National Conventions and in determining the Republican Platform for the state of Texas.

Each precinct, now 29 in Comal County, will elect delegates to the Comal County Convention.  The delegates will represent their precinct at the County Convention, assuring that the ideas and beliefs of each precinct  are represented at the County Convention.

Each Republican primary voter is eligible to be a delegate to the County Convention.  If for some reason, a voter is unable to vote in the Republican primary, he/she can still be a delegate by taking an oath of affiliation with the Republican Party.

The grassroots ideas from the Precinct Convention  move forward through the County Convention to the State Convention, where the Texas Republican Party defines its shared beliefs and determines how it will promote these beliefs. The Party does this by creating a platform, by setting rules, and electing people to run the party between conventions.

Links to the Republican Party of Texas platform, rules, legislative priorities, and bylaws are provided below.

RPT  Platform
RPT Rules
RPT Legislative Priorities
SREC Bylaws

Locations for 2020 Precinct Conventions

Precinct conventions will be held on Saturday March 7, beginning at 10:00 AM at the following Locations:

The exact location for each precinct convention has not been determined.

Please check back here before early voting starts for a complete list of locations for your Precinct Convention

Comal County Convention

10 AM – 3 PM
Christ’s Presbyterian Church
1620 East Common St.
New Braunfels, TX

Standing Committees:

  • Rules Committee
  • Credentials Committee
  • Resolutions Committee – Chair – Mary Lou Erben
  • Nominating Committee – Chair – Sharon Hall Monge
  • Permanent Organization – Chair – Don Johnson
2020 Texas Republican Convention

May 11 – 13 Committees
May 14 – 16 Convention

George R. Brown Convention Center
1001 Avenida De Las Americas
Houston, Texas

Republican National Convention

August 24-27

Spectrum Center
333 East Trade Street
Charlotte, North Carolina

For more information, click here to visit the Republican National Convention facebook page